As an Administrator, you'll oversee the addition of new users and the disabling of current users. You will also manage transitions that marketers may go through when moving from one sales territory to another. This article reviews some best practices for prepare for moving marketers from one area to another or prepping for a transition in the event of turnover.
Note: These steps should be taken before disabling or moving a current user.
Events in PlayMaker are non-transferrable. Unlike contact, account or referral records (which can easily be assigned to other users), events are only associated to a user's calendar and aren't records that can have ownership changed. Before moving forward with changing sales territories or disabling a user, we suggest printing or exporting a Daily Visit Report for the user. This report will show all of the scheduled and completed events over a period of time (we suggest 30-, 60-, or 90-days), allowing the new rep for that territory to use the report as a foundation for scheduling their own events.
If a user changes sales territories, their calendar will remain unchanged, leaving events that are associated to their old book of business. These old events can either be manually deleted to clear out their calendar to make room for new events with their new book of business, or the user can be disabled to have their calendar cleared. You can learn more about clearing an active user's calendar here.
When a user is leaving the organization, their PlayMaker user should be disabled. This process allows the administrator to determine if they would like to keep the user's future events or if they would like to delete them. Regardless of choice, historical events and notes will remain so long as the user is not deleted. PlayMaker suggests deleting future events.
Note: If future events are kept for a user that has been disabled, the events will only be visible in the Events section of the Overview page. They will not appear on reporting. To remove these events from the Events section, the disabled user will need to be activated and disabled a second time, and the option to delete all future events should be selected.
Historical records should stay assigned to the original rep during the disabling process or when a user switches sales territories. This ensures that historical reporting is accurate, and that reps don't end up missing credit for referrals or getting credit for too many.
When a new rep is added, it is important that the rep receives credit for their referrals. For non-integrated accounts, referral ownership is always set manually when a referral is created, so the new rep will just need to be added to their referrals. For integrated accounts, there are two ways that referrals are assigned:
- Sync ID - When a Sync ID is used, the identifier on the referral points directly to the rep that should be assigned credit for the referral. New reps will generally not be assigned a Sync ID by the EHR until a referral is created. Once the new user's first referral comes into PlayMaker, their Sync ID can be pulled from the referral record and must be manually added to the user's profile. This article helps troubleshoot unassigned referrals by using Sync IDs and walks through adding the ID to the user's profile and correcting any unassigned referrals.
- Reverse Look-up - If a Sync Id is not used on your integrated accounts, referrals are generally assigned by looking at the assignment of the Primary Physician, Referring Facility, or Referring Person. To make sure that the new user receives referral credit, it's critical that all of their accounts and contacts are assign correctly. For specifics about how your referrals are assigned, please contact your Client Success Manager.
Accounts and Contacts
The easiest way to change ownership quickly is through the process of disabling a user, provided that the new user and the old user are both active in your PlayMaker environment. If that is the case, you can simply follow the steps of disabling a user to transfer both accounts and contacts to the new user. If a user is just switching territories, they can be reactivated immediately after being disabled.
When there are not enough available licenses to have both the new and the old reps active at the same time to transfer accounts and contacts, we suggest temporarily disabling another user to allow for the transfer of records to be completed through the disabling process. This article walks through these steps.
If a user was disabled and ownership was not removed or changed, the disabled user remains assigned to the records. It is then possible to go the Accounts page and search for that owner to pull up a list of their accounts and assign the accounts to the new rep using bulk actions. We suggest assigning accounts first as users will be asked if they want to mirror the ownership change on all related contacts, simplifying the process.
Note: The old shared owner will not be displayed on these records, as inactive users are not displayed in the system. With this being the case, the results may not be perfect since multiple disabled users may share the same first or last name. It is suggested to use the more unique name when searching (first or last, but not both).